Thursday, April 23, 2009

Digital Education and Open Content: Tonight on Classroom 2.0

Interesting discussion about open content and education: tonight live on Elluminate.
A discussion of the open content movement in education, where creative work is "published in a format that explicitly allows copying and modifying of its information by anyone" (Wikipedia).

Date: Thursday, April 23rd, 2009

Time: 5pm Pacific / 8pm Eastern / 12am GMT

Location: In Elluminate.

Guests:

Karen Fasimpaur. An enthusiastic user of mobile technologies and an evangelist for Open Education, Karen Fasimpaur has over fifteen years experience in education and educational technology, working with schools and educational organizations to integrate technology. Ms. Fasimpaur is currently President of K12 Handhelds, which focuses on using mobile computing in education. She is also the founder of the K12 Open Ed web site and the Kids Open Dictionary project. K12 Open Ed (www.k12opened.com). K12 Handhelds (www.k12handhelds.com).

Anne Schreiber. Anne has over 20 years experience as a multi-media publisher, product designer and educator. She is currently the Chief Academic Officer of Curriki – Global Education and Learning Community. Curriki, which was founded by Sun Microsystems is an organization dedicated to the creation of validated, open source K-12 curricula, which is completely free and available globally. Before joining Curriki, Anne was Vice President of Product at the Grow Network/McGraw-Hill, an assessment and instructional reporting company, providing customized instruction based on summative assessment data. Anne began her career as an elementary school teacher, developing staff and student enrichment programs. She is the author of more than a dozen books for young children.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Post a Comment